Digital Port Logo
HomePage UserCP
QuickLinks
Memberlist Blogs Search Calendar FAQ Register

Go Back   Digital Port UK > General > Computer Related > Security Issues
Register eZines Blogs Product Demos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Security Issues Security news, latest and anything related to security of computers or internet. Please always check your sources are correct before postings any related issues in this forum. Thank you!

Additional Options
1 members and 36 guests
Guppy©
Most users ever online was 4,629, 05-07-2008 at 06:39 AM.
Reply
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2006, 03:52 AM
hybrid's Avatar
Syrus XL Media
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 2,010
hybrid will become famous soon enoughhybrid will become famous soon enough
Arrow SCAM: Downloadable Software

OEM PIRATED SOFTWARE SCAM

If you receive an email stating upto 80% off recommended retails prices on software from the following, beware it's a scam. The websites status is 'Blacklisted'', and by further checks is hosted in China, hence the very slow response time.

A WHOIS lookup on this site revealed the following information:

THANKSBILLY.COM

Website Title: Downloadable Software
Response Code: 200
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host, Get Secure
Alexa Trend/Rank: Not Ranked
Website Status: Active
Reverse IP: Web server hosts 34 websites (reverse ip tool requires free login)
Server Type: Apache (Spry.com also uses Apache)
IP Address: 211.147.228.106 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: Click the image to open in full size. - Etrust
Blacklist Status: Listed - Cached Today (details)
Record Type: Domain Name
Monitor: Monitor or Backorder
Wildcard search: 'thanksbilly' or 'thanks billy' in all domains.

If in doubt, check the domain of any site by using the following website:

http://whois.sc/thedomain.com - Obviously, change 'thedomain.com' to the one you wish to lookup. You will then see all details regarding the site, always check the Blacklist Status.
__________________
Hybrid

linkShareLive
<-- Free and Paid Directory Listing (get your website listed now)
'Forever busy.... is there more to life?'
Microsoft TechNet Member
My Space Profile: http://www.myspace.com/syrusxl
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



2003-2008 ©Digital Port UK

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008
Remortgaging | Debt Consolidation | Personal Loan | Web Advertising | Credit Cards

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0